And so it begins

And so it begins…this insane journey of creating a new life.  Adrienne and I have been been together the better part of 5 years.  We have decided, after much thought, to try to begin a family.  I should say, we have decided to extend our family, because I do believe that her and I alone, are a family.  This decision didn’t come lightly, and apparently we can’t actually do it without the “thumbs up” from a licensed therapist!  I have spent a LOT of time thinking about this, and I know it’s not going to be easy.  It will in fact be the hardest thing we will probably ever decide to do.  Life will change, drastically.  I like my life.  No, I love my life, but I think this will enrich it in a way that only a parent will ever know.  It is time to make the sacrifices that I know we are capable of making.  The ones that our parents made for us. 

The decision to ask PD to donate was an easy one.  He is one of my oldest and dearest friends, and 1/2 the reason I moved to Florida.  If it wasn’t partially for him, I never even would have met Adrienne.  They get along better than I could ask for.  Sometimes, they even go out looking for boys to look at, leaving me in the lurch, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  He is a brilliant mind, and a beautiful soul.  He’s not hard on the eyes either.  I dare us to not make a beautiful child!

In my head, I have had him lined up for this job for years.  I was just never sure the job opening was going to have to be filled.  He agreed, without one second of hesitation. I just basically gave him the first right of refusal, and he graciously accepted with a smile.

 I know now that I am ready, and I am ready to do it together with Adrienne.  I think we will make great parents, along with the help of our support system and village of friends.  It takes a village, People! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

